Website is viewed best using Google Chrome or  Internet Explorer or any other web browser when viewing on Mobile Phones

Bismillah Al-Rahman Al-Rahim
In the name of Allah the Most Gracious the Most Merciful

​​​​​This Muslima Helping Others

helping others


​​Halal and Haram are two broad categories into which things have been divided for Muslims according to Islam. Halal is all things that are permissible for Muslims while Haram refers to anything that is prohibited in the Qur’ran or would result in sin when committed by a Muslim. 

The basic structure of Islam is the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and one of Islam's beauties is that it forbids only that which is unnecessary and harmful while providing alternatives that are better and give greater ease and comfort.  ​Whatever Allah (SWT) has sent for humanity is lawful for all people and whatever He has forbidden is forbidden to all. Haram remains Haram no matter how good the intention, how honorable the purpose and how lofty the aim may be. 

Prophet Mohammad (P.B.U.H) has divided the Halal & Haram into three categories:
1. Halal (permissible)
2. Haram (not-permissible)
3. And in between halal and haram, these are doubtful matters.

Prophet Mohammad (P.B.U.H) advised the Muslims to not fall in the doubtful matters, he said: “So whoever abstains from the doubtful matters has saved his religion and his honor”.

The list of Haram things is very limited and that of Halal is very vast, based on the Qur'an. The term Haram is applied to:

  • Actions - e.g. cursing, fornication, murder and disrespecting your parents.
  • Certain in-actions -  e.g. abandoning the obligatory Salah or Prayer
  • Policies - such as riba (usury, interest).
  • Certain food and drink - e.g. drinking alcohol or eating pork.
  • Actions or Food that are  normally halal but under some conditions become haram - For e.g., halal food and drinks at noon-time during Ramadan or a cow or another halal animal that is not slaughtered in the Islamic way.

Most non-Muslims have heard of ‘halal meat’, that is meat from animals slaughtered  under the way and the name of God.  Dhabh (Zabihah), this is the prescribed method of slaughter of permitted animals  regulated by a set of rules intended to ensure the health of the animal to be slaughtered and conformance to Islamic religious law, which is derived from the Quran and hadiths.

These rules are as follows-:

  1. The slaughterer or butcher must be a sane adult Muslim
  2.  In the name of God" (Bismillah) has to be called by the butcher upon slaughter of each halal animal separately,
  3. The animal must be killed by swiftly cutting the throat with one continuous motion of a very sharp knife.
  4. The cut must sever at least three of the trachea, esophagus, and the two blood vessels on either side of the throat.
  5. The spinal cord must remain intact
  6. Animals must be well treated before being killed.
  7. Animals must not see other animals being killed.
  8. The knife must not be sharpened in the animal’s presence.
  9. The knife blade must be free of blemishes that might tear the wound.
  10. The animal must not be in an uncomfortable position.
  11. The animal must be allowed to bleed out and be completely dead before further processing.